Steve Hansen names full-strength side for All Blacks' World Cup quarter-final with Ireland

Steve Hansen has named a full-strength side for Saturday's World Cup quarter-final with Ireland.

The All Blacks perform the haka against South Africa. Source: Photosport

Brodie Retallick starts at lock for the clash at Toyko Stadium, having only played 30 minutes against Namibia in the tournament.

Your playlist will load after this ad

Anton Lienert-Brown was given the nod to start at second five-eighth in the do-or-die quarter-final against Ireland. Source: 1 NEWS

Richie Mo'unga will once again wear the number 10 jersey, with Beauden Barrett 15, while Jack Goodhue and Anton Lienert-Brown have got the nod in the centres. 

Your playlist will load after this ad

1 NEWS Sport’s Andrew Saville runs through the team. Source: 1 NEWS

Perhaps the only surprise is at hooker, with Codie Taylor edging ahead of Dane Coles, who is on the bench, while veteran outside back Ben Smith misses the squad entirely. 

“There’s a lot of energy and excitement in the team which is normal for this stage of the tournament where the winner takes all. It will add extra pressure to both sides," coach Steve Hansen said in a statement.

“We feel we’ve selected a great mixture of talent in our 23, who are in great form, and the squad includes many players who have a lot of Rugby World Cup knockout match experience."

Five of the forwards - Kieran Read, Retallick, Ardie Savea, Taylor and Sam Whitelock - have been retained from the starting line-up from their 16-9 loss against Joe Schmidt's side last November.

Halfback Aaron Smith, Barrett, who played five-eighth, and centre Jack Goodhue are the only survivors from the starting backline for that game, which was the first time Ireland had beaten New Zealand in Dublin.

The match kicks-off at 11.15pm on Saturday. 

Team: 1: Joe Moody (43) 2: Codie Taylor (48) 3: Nepo Laulala (23) 4: Brodie Retallick (78) 5: Samuel Whitelock (115) 6: Ardie Savea (42) 7: Sam Cane (65) 8: Kieran Read - captain (124)  9: Aaron Smith (89) 10: Richie Mo’unga (14) 11: George Bridge (7) 12: Anton Lienert-Brown (40) 13: Jack Goodhue (11) 14: Sevu Reece (5) 15: Beauden Barrett (80)

Reserves: 16:Dane Coles (66) 17: Ofa Tuungafasi (33) 18: Angus Ta'avao (11) 19: Scott Barrett (33) 20: Matt Todd (23) 21: T J Perenara (62) 22: Sonny Bill Williams (55) 23: Jordie Barrett (14)