Black Ferns Sevens star heralds 'amazing' moment Hamilton named as world tour stop

Black Ferns Women's Sevens star Ruby Tui has heralded the "amazing" moment Hamilton was named as a world tour stop.

As World Rugby announced a revamped Sevens series, the women's tournament will increase from six legs to eight going into 2019-20, while the men's series will stay at 10 legs.

Having replaced Wellington as the venue for the New Zealand leg at the start of 2018, Hamilton will expand to a combined event for both men's and women's sides, while Hong Kong and Cape Town also move to combined status.

The news was welcomed by Ruby Tui who spoke to 1 NEWS about the announcement today.

"Probably one of the proudest moments of my career was to read that New Zealand is one of the six nations that has put their hand up to run woman and men together in a parallel tournament, it's really amazing," she said.

Sevens World Series 2019-2020:

* Colorado (women's standalone)
* Dubai Sevens (combined)
* Cape Town (combined)
* New Zealand (combined)
* Sydney (combined)
* Vancouver (combined)
* Hong Kong (combined)
* Singapore (men's standalone)
* Langford (women's standalone)
* London (men's standalone)
* Paris (combined)

More From