Francis and Kaiora Tipene from The Casketeers

On November 22, the Huawei Mate20 New Zealand Television Awards will take place for a second year, after they re-launched in 2017. 

These awards recognise excellence in television and this year TVNZ has taken away a stack of nominations, with the Sunday Theatre drama The Dance Exponents – Why Does Love? the most nominated show on the list.

Sunday dramas Catching the Black Widow and Resolve were also nominated while The Casketeers, which aired its first season in 2018, was nominated for Best Original Reality Series and Best Maori Programme. 

TVNZ journalist Tini Molyneux will also receive the Television Legend award for 2018 for her 10 years as 1 News’ Maori Affairs correspondent and her work on Te Karere, Waka Huia and Marae.

Our nominated shows are:

The Dance Exponents – Why Does Love?
Best Feature Drama
Screen Auckland Best Director: Drama – Danny Mulheron
Best Actor – Jordan Mooney

Catching the Black Widow
Best Feature Drama
Best Actress – Aidee Walker

Best Feature Drama

Coast New Zealand
NZ On Air Best Factual Series

I Am
NZ On Air Best Factual Series

The Casketeers
Best Original Reality Series
Te Māngai Pāho Best Maori Programme

My Kitchen Rules NZ
Stage & Screen Best Format Reality Series

800 Words
Best Actor – Rick Donald

NZ On Air Best Drama Series

Anika Moa Unleashed
Best Presenter: Entertainment

Baby Mama’s Club
NZ On Air Best Web Series

Friday Night Bites
NZ On Air Best Web Series

Alice Snedden’s Bad News
NZ On Air Best Web Series

Mind Over Money with Nigel Latta
Best Lifestyle Programme

Topp Country
Best Lifestyle Programme
Best Director: Documentary/Factual – Felicity Morgan-Rhind

Karena and Kasey’s Kitchen Diplomacy
Best Lifestyle Programme

Thunderbirds Are Go
Best Children’s Programme

The New Legends of Monkey
Best Children’s Programme

Best Pasifika Programme

Best Presenter: News and Current Affairs – Miriama Kamo

Waka Huia
Timoti Karetu - Te Māngai Pāho Best Reo Programme

Te Karere
Te Māngai Pāho Best Reo Programme

1 News
Best News Coverage

Reporter of the Year Nominee – Jehan Casinader

Television Legend – Tini Molyneux