It's set to be a significant and historic day for women's rugby league today.

The NZ Warriors names its 22 women squad for the inaugural NRL women's premiership competition.

But a number of Kiwis Ferns players have already been signed by rival Aussie based clubs.

Greg Whaiapu manages 32 clubs in the Auckland region and says they're put in place age-groups to allow women a good pathway in league but says more still needs to be done.

"We haven't got a strong framework in place at the moment. We've got to talk to NZ Rugby League to make sure that they understand what their role is and how we are in Auckland and how the Warriors play a part of this as well."

Some NZ Māori players already scooped up, Honey Hireme for St George Illawarra Dragons, Zahara Temara for Sydney Roosters and Rona Peters joins Teuila Fotu-Moala and Maitua Feterika for the Brisbane Broncos.

The Warriors team are the only four NRL women's teams left to announce their team. 

Their official announcement will happen midday today.