Weekdays at 3.55pm on TVNZ 1

Weekdays at 3.55pm on TVNZ 1
Now watching
  • Labour caucus elects 21 Labour Ministers of the Crown

    Today Labour's caucus has elected the 21 Labour Ministers of the Crown who will serve in the new government’s executive, says Labour Leader Jacinda Ardern.


    “Across the board these members have the experience, expertise and drive I want in our team so we can make the right decisions to tackle the challenges our country faces. The well-being of all New Zealanders will be at the heart of our work as we seek to build a better, fairer New Zealand.


    “I will announce the portfolios of Ministers next week, including the New Zealand First and Green Party Ministers.


    “New Zealand First will hold four positions inside Cabinet, and the Green Party will hold three positions outside of Cabinet. In total the Executive will contain 28 members, in line with past governments.


    “Early next week, there will also be an official signing of agreements with New Zealand First and the Green Party that will form the foundation of a strong and durable government.


    “I have been very heartened by the level of support I have received since last night’s announcement and look forward to ushering in a new era for New Zealand when the Labour-led Government is sworn in next Thursday,” says Jacinda Ardern.


    Cabinet Ministers (alphabetical order)

    Jacinda Ardern

    David Clark

    Clare Curran

    Kelvin Davis

    Chris Hipkins

    Iain Lees-Galloway

    Andrew Little

    Nanaia Mahuta

    Stuart Nash

    Damien O’Connor

    David Parker

    Grant Robertson

    Jenny Salesa

    Carmel Sepuloni

    Phil Twyford

    Megan Woods


    Ministers outside Cabinet (alphabetical order)

    Kris Faafoi

    Peeni Henare

    Willie Jackson

    Aupito William Sio

    Meka Whaitiri


    Contact: Mike Jaspers

    Chief Press Secretary

    027 677 8875