My Kitchen Rules NZ's 2018 contestants

The stakes are high for six brand new teams to prove their culinary calibre.

With more high-pressure challenges, epic showdowns and delicious food, MRK is back to dish up the drama.

The judges

Celebrity chefs Pete and Manu are back, ready to travel New Zealand in pursuit of culinary excellence. Veterans of My Kitchen Rules Australia, this will be the pair’s second stint as judges in Aotearoa, they've been rightfully impressed with what our fair nation has to offer.

With some very special VIP guests set to join the fun, the pressure is on for this year’s contestants to step up to the plate.

The Teams

With six teams of food fanatics from around the country eager to impress the judges – and each other – there are some big personalities at the table this season.

From a foul-mouthed father daughter duo, to some sassy BFFs, to a pair of PDA enthusiasts, these foodies are not here to make friends – so expect plenty of heat in the kitchen.

The competition

Kicking things off with a round of Instant Restaurants the teams will be thrown in the deep end, inviting the judges - and their competitors – into their homes for a lavish three course meal.

The five teams with the highest scores will then go forth to face the most intense location challenges and eliminations, as they go on the road and into real commercial kitchens to prepare meals for the public at large.

Three intense weeks later, five will then become two as the remaining teams go head-to-head to produce four stunning, restaurant quality dishes in the My Kitchen Rules New Zealand grand final.

Joining Pete and Manu at the judging table will be returning VIP Guest Judges Nadia Lim, Ray McVinnie, Tom Hishon, and the legendary Simon Wright.

The Prize

As if the glory of being crowned My Kitchen Rules New Zealand’s 2018 champions weren’t ample reward, a tidy $100, 000 cash prize is on offer for the winning team – more than enough to make all their food dreams come true.

Things are going to get spicy. My Kitchen Rules New Zealand starts Sunday 7 October.