Regional Solutions


TVNZ has four broadcast regions available on TVNZ 1. This allows advertisers to separate out and reach close to 100% of their local audience in Auckland, Waikato, Central or Southern.

Regional Advertising is cost effective too and is calculated at a percentage of the national rate.

  • Auckland 70%
  • Waikato 20%
  • Central 25%
  • Southern 25%

Some rules around regional advertising:

  • Regional breaks are available in two day parts on TVNZ 1: 0600-2400 Monday to Saturday and 1200-2400 Sunday
  • A maximum of 30 second duration can be booked for one spot within a regional break. 
  • National spots can only be broken out to regional spots if all regions are purchased. A regional loading will apply to each regional spot.

Note: TVNZ 1+1 will be broadcast nationally with an Auckland feed; that is, no regional break outs.


Online advertising campaigns on TVNZ OnDemand and 1 News NOW can be geo-targeted by the below areas:

North Island areas

  • Auckland: Auckland, Auckland Airport, Kawau Island, Mechanics Bay, Papakura, Pukekohe and Waitakere.
  • Northland: Kaikohe, Kerikeri, Paihia and Whangarei
  • Bay Of Plenty: Rotorua, Tauranga and Whakatane
  • Taranaki: Hawera, New Plymouth and Stratford
  • Waikato: Cambridge, Hamilton, Piopio, Taupo and Te Awamutu
  • Hawke's Bay: Hastings, Havelock North and Napier
  • Gisborne
  • Wellington: Lower Hutt, Masterton, Paraparaumu, Porirua, Upper Hutt and Wellington
  • Manawatu-Wanganui: Feilding, Levin, Palmerston North, Waiouru and Whanganui

South Island areas

  • Canterbury: Ashburton, Christchurch, Christchurch International Airport, Lincoln, Rangiora, Tai Tapu and Timaru
  • Nelson
  • Otago: Dunedin, Mosgiel, Oamaru, Queenstown and Wanaka
  • Southland: Gore and Invercargill
  • Tasman: Motueka and Richmond
  • West Coast: Greymouth
  • Marlborough: Blenheim
  • Chatham Islands

Related content


Weekly schedules plus key show highlights

Copyright © 2017 TVNZ Ltd