NZ Sevens squads revealed for Commonwealth Games

New Zealand have revealed their sevens squads for the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast next month, with both men's and women's sides naming their 13-strong teams.

Next month's Gold Coast games is especially significant for the women's team, with 2018 being the first time both genders compete at the same tournament.

The 26 players were announced today at Mount Maunganui, with NZ Olympic Committee CEO Kereyn Smith congratulating both teams.

"New Zealand Rugby Sevens has an extremely proud history at the Commonwealth Games and on the Gold Coast that history will grow with Women’s Rugby Sevens to be contested for the first time ever at the Games," said Smith.

"This is fantastic for the team and for the New Zealand public and it's a great opportunity for these players to inspire the young women of New Zealand and show them what they're capable of."

"We're very pleased to have both women's and men's sevens being contested on the Gold Coast. It’s a game which captivates New Zealanders and I have no doubt there'll be a strong contingent of Kiwi supporters there to cheer these athletes on."

Men: Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty), Dylan Collier (Waikato), Sam Dickson (Canterbury), Trael Joass (Tasman), Vilimoni Koroi (Otago), Andrew Knewstubb (Tasman), Sione Molia (Counties Manukau), Kurt Baker (Manawatu), Joe Webber (Bay of Plenty), Regan Ware (Bay of Plenty), Ngarohi McGarvey-Black (Bay of Plenty), Travelling reserve: Caleb Clarke (Auckland)

Women: Portia Woodman (Counties Manukau), Stacey Waaka (Waikato), Shakira Baker (Waikato), Sarah Goss (Manawatu), Ruby Tui (Bay of Plenty), Theresa Fitzpatrick (Auckland), Tyla Nathan-Wong (Auckland), Kat Whata-Simpkins (Wellington), Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty), Gayle Broughton (Bay of Plenty), Niall Williams (Auckland), Michaela Blyde (Bay of Plenty), Travelling reserve: Tenika Willison (Waikato)