'No point b******* about that' - All Blacks coach Steve Hansen credits Springboks on win, doesn't blame officials for missed call

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen admitted at tonight's press conference that he heard a call from a side-line official, saying the Springboks halfback and number eight were offside in the final moments of his side's Test match loss.

But Hansen believes had the referee in charge Nigel Owen heard the call he would have blown the whistle.

"I just heard the same thing you did, obviously Nigel (Owen) didn't hear it or he would have done something about it," Hansen told reporters.

South Africa pushed the All Blacks right till fulltime, earning themselves a 36-34 win over the home team at Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

Hansen said he holds no grudges against the officials and said South Africa deserved their victory.

"No point in me b******* about that, the game's about taking your opportunities and making sure the opposition don't.

"We didn't do that tonight, so the result is a credit to South Africa.

"I thought they played particularly well and we'll come out of it with a lot of things to work on.

"We'll leave Nige (Owen) out of it."

The All Blacks will take a week off before flying out to Buenos Aires where they will take on Argentina on September 30 in their next Rugby Championship match.

Your playlist will load after this ad

The All Blacks coach said his side didn’t execute under presser and the visitors deserved their 36-34 win in Wellington. Source: 1 NEWS

More From