Kendra Cocksedge up for player of the year, Black Ferns Sevens feature heavily as NZ Rugby Awards finalists revealed

Kendra Cocksedge is going toe-to-toe with some of the All Blacks' finest, in line for the player of the year award after the finalists for the New Zealand Rugby Awards were announced last night.

The Black Ferns halfback is up against Richie Mo'unga, Brodie Retallick and Codie Taylor for the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year award.

Cocksedge is also in the running for the Women's Player of the Year award after becoming the first player to surpass 1000 first-class points in the Farah Palmer Cup. She's up against Aroha Savage and Selica Winiata in that category.

Elsewhere, the Black Ferns Sevens are well-represented after a stellar 2018, featuring in a plethora of categories.

The team won both the Commonwealth Games gold medal and World Cup this year, leading to both players and management being recognised with nominations.

Allan Bunting is up for NZ coach of the year alongside Clark Laidlaw from the men's sevens programme and All Blacks coach Steve Hansen while captain Sarah Goss has been named a finalist for the Tom French Memorial award.

Goss is in the running for the Maori Player of the Year alongside Rieko Ioane and Codie Taylor.

The team is also nominated for NZ Team of the Year alongside the All Blacks and All Blacks Sevens.

2018 NZR Awards Nominees

Try of the Year – Top Three Finalists

Kelly Brazier (Black Ferns Sevens)
Chris Hala’ufia (St Peter's College)
Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year

Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)
Richard Kelly (Taranaki)
Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year

Irene Eruera-Taiapa (Horowhenua Kapiti)
Steve Webling (Taranaki)
Kim Wheeler (King Country)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year

Sam Darry (Canterbury)
Tom Christie (Canterbury)
Risaleaana Pouri-Lane (Tasman)
Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year

Craig Clare (Wanganui)
Brett Ranga (Thames Valley)
Willie Wright (South Canterbury)

Duane Monkley Medal

TJ Faiane (Auckland)
Luke Romano (Canterbury)
Fletcher Smith (Waikato)

Fiao’o Faamausili Medal

Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Krysten Cottrell (Hawke’s Bay)
Jackie Patea-Fereti (Wellington)

National Coach of the Year

Alama Ieremia (Auckland)
Kieran Kite (Canterbury Women)
Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

New Zealand Coach of the Year

Allan Bunting (Black Ferns Sevens)
Steve Hansen (All Blacks)
Clark Laidlaw (All Blacks Sevens)

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year

Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs)
Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders)
Matt Todd (Crusaders)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year

Sarah Goss (Ngati Kahungunu)
Rieko Ioane (Ngapuhi / Te Whanau a Apanui)
Codie Taylor (Ngati Raukawa / Muaupoko)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year

Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty)
Vilimoni Koroi (Otago)
Regan Ware (Bay of Plenty)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year

Michaela Blyde (Bay of Plenty)
Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty)
Sarah Goss (Manawatu)

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year

Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Aroha Savage (Counties Manukau)
Selica Winiata (Manawatu)

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year

Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Richie Mo’unga (Canterbury)
Brodie Retallick (Hawke’s Bay)
Codie Taylor (Canterbury)

National Team of the Year

Thames Valley

New Zealand Team of the Year

All Blacks
All Blacks Sevens
Black Ferns Sevens

New Zealand's Kendra Cocksedge scores a try during the Black Ferns vs Australia Women's rugby match at Eden Park in Auckland on Saturday the 25th of August 2018. Source: Photosport

More From