Is Scotland's exit out of the RWC karma?

share

OPINION: Scotland's controversial exit out of the Rugby World Cup could be seen as karma as officials last week missed a clear knock on by Greig Laidlaw, in the lead up to his game-winning try against Manu Samoa in their final pool B game.

Craig Joubert's decision to penalise Scotland for an offside play could be a blessing from the rugby Gods as Samoa were denied a famous win over the Scots at St James' Park, Newcastle.

Rugby fans are quick to forget that Japan should have been the team that faced Australia in this morning's quarter final.

Scotland won the match against Samoa 36-33 but had Laidlaw's try been disallowed or referred to the TMO, Samoa could have very well won the match.

Hurricanes hooker Motu Matu'u crossed over the white chalk for Samoa after a brilliant inside ball by Jack Lam in the dying minutes of the match.

The brave blossoms, Japan would have qualified for their first ever quarter final appearance in the tournament.

The tension in the faces told it all - knockout rugby at its best.
Source: SKY

With rugby fans complaining about the slow style of officiating at the tournament, Joubert's on-the-spot decision to award a penalty to the Wallabies catered to the appetite of what sort of style football they want to see.    

Japan's 12 points would have been enough to surpass the Scottish had Samoa not been denied a historic win.

So before Scottish fans and rugby enthusiasts go head hunting for Joubert's indefinite suspension from refereeing any more World Cup fixtures, you got to feel for the Japanese and Manu Samoa players and fans.

loading error

refresh