Hamilton given women's tournament as World Sevens series expands

The Black Ferns sevens have been given a boost for the 2019-2020 season, with Hamilton added as a host for a women's leg of the next World Sevens Series.

As World Rugby announced a revamped Sevens series, the women's tournament will increase from six legs to eight going into 2019-20, while the men's series will stay at 10 legs.

Having replaced Wellington as the venue for the New Zealand leg at the start of 2018, Hamilton will expand to a combined event for both men's and women's sides, while Hong Kong and Cape Town also move to combined status.

Sevens World Series 2019-2020

* Colorado (women's standalone)
* Dubai Sevens (combined)
* Cape Town (combined)
* New Zealand (combined)
* Sydney (combined)
* Vancouver (combined)
* Hong Kong (combined)
* Singapore (men's standalone)
* Langford (women's standalone)
* London (men's standalone)
* Paris (combined)

New Zealand lift the Rugby World Cup Sevens.
New Zealand lift the Rugby World Cup Sevens. Source: Photosport

More From