Beauden Barrett, Dane Coles finalists for World Rugby player of the year award


After standout performances consistently on the international stage, All Blacks Beauden Barrett and Dane Coles' efforts have been rewarded with nominations for the World Rugby men's player of the year.

Steve Hansen says Barrett learning to conduct a team in a pressured environment during the Hurricanes’ finals run has accelerated his development.
Source: 1 NEWS

The two Hurricanes stars are also joined by Black Fern Fiao'o Fa'amausili who has been nominated for the women's player of the year.

The selection process saw independent panels from former international players and members of the media deliberate on every international Test from this year through to November 5.

Barrett and Coles are joined by Owen Farrell (England), Jamie Heaslip (Ireland), Maro Itoje (England) and Billy Vunipola (England) for the men's finalists while Sarah Hunter (England) and Gaëlle Mignot (France) make up the women's shortlist.

Coles pulled out the 'I'm just doing my job' line before Sam Cane quickly jumped in to lighten the mood at today's press conference.
Source: 1 NEWS

An All Black has won the prestigious award the last four years; Dan Carter winning in 2012 and last year, while Kierean Read (2013) and Brodie Retallick (2014) also took home the award as well.

In their nomination descriptions, both players were highlighted by World Rugby for their speed and personal flair at their positions.

"Any fears New Zealand fans may have had about the No.10 jersey following Dan Carter's retirement have been eased by the scintillating displays of Beauden Barrett in 2016," World Rugby wrote of the first-five.

"The attack-minded player, equally at home at fly-half or full-back, has scored seven tries in 2016 with defences often left flat-footed by his step and turn of pace."

All Blacks first-five Barrett played a key role breaking open the game against the Pumas, scoring a try and setting up several in Hamilton in the weekend.
Source: 1 NEWS

Coles also received praise from World Rugby for his speed and also leading the Hurricanes to a maiden Super Rugby title this year.

"The All Blacks hooker, who turns 30 next month, is the epitome of the modern-day front rower, with his strength, speed and mobility often seeing him pop up on the wing to finish off a flowing move."

All tongue-in-cheek, Coles jumps in to expose his team-mate who was asked how he rated his performance against the Wallabies.
Source: 1 NEWS

The pair add to another strong year of nominations for the All Blacks at World Rugby Awards.

Steve Hansen, Ardie Savea, Anton Lienert-Brown and TJ Perenara have all been given nominations for individual awards while Portia Woodman was also recognised as a finalist in the Women's Sevens Player of the Year category.

Hansen has been nominated for Coach of the Year, while both Savea and Lienert-Brown will compete for Breakthrough Player of the Year alongside Itoje.

Perenara is a finalist for Try of the Year after his efforts against Argentina.

The All Blacks have also been named a finalist alongside England and the Fiji Sevens for World Rugby Team of the Year.

The awards take place at the Hilton London Metropole on November 13.


World Rugby Men's Player of the Year
Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
Dane Coles (New Zealand)
Owen Farrell (England)
Jamie Heaslip (Ireland)
Maro Itoje (England)
Billy Vunipola (England)

World Rugby Women's Player of the Year
Fiao'o Fa'amausili (New Zealand)
Sarah Hunter (England)
Gaëlle Mignot (France)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC
Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Emily Scarratt (England)
Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC
Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)

World Rugby Team of the Year
Fiji Sevens
New Zealand

World Rugby Coach of the Year
Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year
Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

IRPA Try of the Year
Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)

World Rugby Referee Award
Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

loading error