Parker? Carrington? Malone? Top guns eye supreme award as 54th Halberg Award contenders announced

Nominees for the 54th Halberg Awards have been announced this morning after another year of success stories in countless sporting domains.

Eighty-seven nominations from 31 different sports fill the six categories of the premier awards evening for celebrating sporting achievements by New Zealand teams and athletes.

With the nominations finalised, the list will be now be sent to the Halberg Awards Voting Academy to shortlist finalists for the six categories ahead of the awards on February 9 next year.

The legendary boxing promoter expects big things to come for Parker in the future. Source: 1 NEWS

Vector Arena will play host to sporting names such as Liam Malone, Joseph Parker, Lisa Carrington and Eliza McCartney along with teams including the All Blacks, Men's Pair and Rowing Women's Eight.

Shelley McMeeken, chief executive of the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation, says it's an exciting time for all nominees.

"2016 has been a huge year for sport which is represented in the size and cross section of sports included in the nominations," she said.

The Olympic gold medal canoeist took the time to meet the pupils and staff of Yaldhurst Model School, who were thrilled to have her. Source: 1 NEWS

"Now it’s over to the judges who have one of the hardest jobs in the country – deciding who wins the coveted supreme Halberg Award!"

The awards will also feature three awards for New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment (public vote category), Sport New Zealand Leadership and Lifetime Achievement.

Inductees into the Sports Hall of Fame will also be made at the event.

Full Nomiation list for 54th Annual Halberg Awards

Sportsman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Beauden Barrett (Rugby), Brayden Graham (Mixed Martial Arts), Byron Chivers (Mixed Martial Arts), Chris Wood (Football), Danny Lee (Golf), George Bennett (Cycling), Hayden Paddon (Motorsport), John Kennard (Motorsport), Joseph Parker (Boxing), Jossi Wells (Snow Sports), Mahe Drysdale (Rowing), Max Beattie (Surf Life Saving), Nick Willis (Athletics), Peter Michael (Skating), Sam Gaze (Cycling), Sam Meech (Yachting), Shane Van Gisbergen (Motorsport), Shannon McIlroy (Bowls), Steven Adams (Basketball), Tom Walsh (Athletics), William Trubridge (Diving), Winston Reid (Football).

Sportswoman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Abby Erceg (Football), Amy Satterthwaite (Cricket), Christy Prior (Snow Sports), Eliza McCartney (Athletics), Laura Quilter (Surf Life Saving), Lisa Carrington (Canoeing), Luuka Jones (Canoeing), Lydia Ko (Golf), Natalie Rooney (Shooting), Portia Woodman (Rugby), Valerie Adams (Athletics), Zoe McBride (Rowing).

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Amy Jane MacDonald (Para-Waka Ama), Anna Grimaldi (Para-Athletics), Cameron Leslie (Para-Swimming), Corey Peters (Para-Skiing), Liam Malone (Para-Athletics), Mary Fisher (Para-Swimming), Nikita Howarth (Para-Swimming), Rick Dodson, Andrew May, Chris Sharp (Para-Sailing), Sophie Pascoe (Para-Swimming).

Team of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award)

Women’s 49erFX - Alex Maloney and Molly Meech (Yachting), All Blacks (Rugby), Black Ferns (Rugby), Blackjacks Men's Fours - Mike Nagy, Mike Kernaghan, Blake Signal and Ali Forsyth (Bowls), Haden Paddon and John Kennard (Motorsport), Men’s 49er – Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (Yachting), Men's Blackjacks (Bowls),Men’s Pair – Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (Rowing), New Zealand Black Fins (Surf Life Saving), New Zealand Golf Croquet Team - Chris Clarke, Jenny Clarke, Duncan Dixon, Phillip Drew and Mike Crashley (Croquet), Paddle Ferns (Canoeing), Rowing Women’s Eight (Rowing), Rowing Women's Pair - Rebecca Scown and Genevieve Behrent (Rowing), Squash New Zealand World Doubles Team (Squash), Team Sprint – Eddie Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell and Sam Webster (Cycling), The Hurricanes (Rugby), Women’s 470 - Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie (Yachting).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year

Anthony Peden (Cycling), Brent Ward (Para-Athletics), Chris Boyd (Rugby), Dale Stevenson (Athletics), Gordon Walker (Canoeing), Hamish Willcox (Yachting), James Mortimer (Para-Athletics), Jason Pocock (Surf Life Saving), Jeremy McColl (Athletics), Jim Maloney (Yachting), Kiwi Campbell (Waka Ama), Mark Howard (Yachting), Nathan Handley (Yachting), Raylene Bates (Para-Athletics), Roly Crichton (Para-Swimming), Sean Thompson (Snow Sports), Simon Mayne (Para-Swimming), Steve Hansen (Rugby).

Emerging Talent

Dylan Schmidt (Trampoline), Finn Bilous (Snow Sports), Monty Patterson (Football), George Gautrey (Yachting), Nick Johnson (Yachting), Jason Matthews (Baseball), Hamish McLean (Para-Swimming), Maynard Peel (Cycling BMX), Campbell Stewart (Cycling).

Thousands of people gathered to see the double gold medallist honoured with the key to the city. Source: 1 NEWS

More From