'A lot of baby talk!' Tom Walsh jokes about sitting with mate Valerie Adams at Halberg Awards

Tom Walsh has joked about sharing a table with fellow shot put legend Dame Valerie Adams at last night's Halberg Awards, saying there was "a lot of baby talk."

Walsh was a big winner at the awards, taking out Sportsman of the Year.

When asked if he was given any good advice from his good mate Dame Valerie, Walsh had a witty response.

"There seems to be a lot of baby talk! I'm not really at home with the baby talk.

"Me and Val we just talk so much trash to each other there is never a serious conversation," Walsh said laughing.

The champion shot-putter says he now has his sights on winning gold for New Zealand at the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in April.

The shot-putter was a big winner, taking out the Sportsman of the Year award. Source: 1 NEWS