'We just don't want to defend': Warriors humiliated by Raiders in New Plymouth

New Plymouth won't have fond memories of the first time the Warriors came to town, with the Raiders running away with a 38-12 win. 

Trailing 22-0 at halftime, it was going to take the biggest ever comeback in the club's history to pull this one out of the fire, but that's impossible when there is no desire to defend. 

"We just don't want to defend," captain Ryan Hoffman said. 

CANBERRA 38 (B Austin J Croker J Hodgson E Lee J Leilua J Papalii tries J Croker 7 goals) bt WARRIORS 12 (B Ayshford S Johnson tries S Johnson 2 goals) at Yarrow Stadium. Referee: Grant Atkins, Matt Noyen. Crowd: 12,833.


73mins - WAR 12-38 CAN

TRY! Blake Ayshford needs a couple of replays but the try is confirmed. 

70mins - WAR 6-38 CAN

TRY! Blake Ayshford fumbles a straight forward pass and Edrick Lee streaks away with the loose ball to score. 

66mins - WAR 6-32 CAN

TRY! Josh Hodgson goes over from dummy half and that's a heart-breaker for the Warriors.

56mins - WAR 6-26 CAN

TRY! Josh Papali'i goes straight at Johnson, who slips off the tackle and lets the big Queenslander over the line. 

52mins - WAR 6-22 CAN

Warriors show promise as Mannering goes close to the line but Johnson's kick on the last tackle is way to long. 

46mins - WAR 6-22 CAN

TRY! Warriors finally find the space out wide and Shaun Johnson goes over in the right corner. The Warriors' biggest comeback was from down 20-0 at hafltime in 2005. 

44mins - WAR 0-22 CAN

NO TRY! Sam Lisone rolls over the Canberra defence but can't get the ball to ground. 

41mins - WAR 0-22 CAN

And we're back. 


39mins - WAR 0-22 CAN

TWO! Crocker slots another penalty. 

35mins - WAR 0-20 CAN

TRY! Jarrod Crocker breezes past Ayshford and Fusitu'a. That was far too easy. 

27mins - WAR 0-14 CAN

TRY! Leilua won't be denied this time. He recovers a wild grubber, reaches out and slams the ball down on the right edge.

24mins - WAR 0-8 CAN

TWO! Jarrod Crocker slots the penalty to give his side a two-score lead. 

22mins - WAR 0-6 CAN

Shaun Johnson of the Warriors eludes Suaia Matagi of the Panthers. Source: Photosport

NO TRY! The rolling ball went into the in-goal and with no one around him, Bodene Thompson managed to knock on. 

17mins - WAR 0-6 CAN

TRY! Blake Austin had options on both sides but sold the dummy and went over the line. Poor efforts there from Luke and Mannering. 

10mins - WAR 0-0 CAN

Warriors with the perfect chance to score but Johnson drops a poor pass from Simon Mannering. 

8mins - WAR 0-0 CAN

Good passage of play for the Warriors. A penalty gets them to within striking distance before a well-weighted kick from Johnson forces the dropout. 

4mins - WAR 0-0 CAN

NO TRY! Leilua goes over from a quick tap but can't it to ground. 

1min - WAR 0-0 CAN

And they're off. Canberra receive the kickoff.

Head to Head: Warriors 17 Raiders 17

Last clash: Round 16 2015 - Warriors 30 bt Raiders 8 at Mt Smart Stadium

After two heartbreaking losses, the Raiders are eager to return to the winner's circle. They'll be boosted by the return of Jeff Lima from a six-week layoff with a broken hand but will miss workhorse Shaun Fensom (shoulder) and Sia Soliola whose wife is due to give birth this week to their second child. Hooker Issac Luke has been restored to the Warriors' starting line-up, as have lock Simon Mannering and prop Ben Matulino. The Kiwi side, coming off a loss to Penrith, have won their past five matches against Canberra dating back to 2013 and outscored them 206-60.

Key: The Raiders will need to get points on the board early and stay composed if they're to walk away victors. Halves Aidan Sezer and Blake Austin will be key.

Tip: Warriors


Warriors: 1 Tui Lolohea 2 Jonathan Wright 3 Blake Ayshford 4 Matthew Allwood 5 David Fusitu’a 6 Thomas Leuluai 7 Shaun Johnson 8 Jacob Lillyman 9 Issac Luke 10 Ben Matulino 11 Bodene Thompson 12 Ryan Hoffman (c) 13 Simon Mannering Interchange: 14 Jazz Tevaga 15 Sam Lisone 16 John Palavi 17 James Gavet 18 Toafofoa Sipley

Raiders: 1 Jack Wighton 2 Edrick Lee 3 Jarrod Croker 4 Joseph Leilua 5 Jordan Rapana 6 Blake Austin 7 Aidan Sezer 8 Shannon Boyd 9 Josh Hodgson 10 Paul Vaughan 11 Josh Papalii 12 Elliot Whitehead 13 Luke Bateman Interchange: 14 Kurt Baptiste 15 Jeff Lima 16 Clay Priest 17 Joseph Tapine 18 Sam Williams 19 Frank Paul Nuuausala