Watch: 'There's no way in the world you don't look at it' - Tonga's coach on controversial ref call

share

Source:

1 NEWS

Mate Ma'a Tonga's head coach Kristian Woolf was baffled as to why officials didn't check with the Television Match Official to see whether his prop Andrew Fifita had scored at the death of Tonga's Rugby League World Cup semi-final in Auckland against England tonight.

Kristian Woolf said he was baffled as to why the TMO wasn't used in the final moments of his side's RLWC 20-18 loss to England in Auckland.
Source: 1 NEWS

Fifita looked to have scored the match winner with the final play of the match, only for the referee to rule a knock-on.

Woolf said he wasn't sure whether his front rower had scored.

"When the game was on the line, I don't know if it was a try or not because I haven't seen it again," said Woolf.

The Tongan coach believes the final play of the game should have been reviewed with what was at stake.

"I would have thought that in those circumstances there is no way in the world that you don't have look at it.

"That really surprises me."

It appeared the ball was stripped in a one-on-one by English second-rower Elliott Whitehead, rather than knocked on - allowing Fifita to continue.

But Fifita was called back by referee Matt Cecchin.

England defeated Tonga 20-18 at Mount Smart Stadium and will face Australia in the final next week in Brisbane.

loading error

refresh