Warriors' Ken Maumalo named winger of the year, Roosters' Tedesco takes home Dally M Medal

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco has capped off the best individual season in more than a decade with his maiden Dally M Medal.

With Sunday's grand final still ahead of him, Tedesco held out Cameron Smith in a dramatic final round to claim the NRL's top gong by three points.

The Roosters superstar finished with a tally of 34 points - the highest of any player since Johnathan Thurston's 36 in 2007.

It comes after the 26-year-old also claimed the Wally Lewis Medal for the player of the State of Origin series, scoring the match-winning try in the series decider for NSW.

It was just reward for a superb season for the Roosters No.1.

He topped the charts in the NRL for linebreaks (29), tackle busts (134) and average run metres (188).

He also claimed a career-high 17 tries, as he helped take the Roosters to Sunday's decider against Canberra.

Tedesco led the count by three points headed into the final round, before he and Smith both polled one each in round 25 to ensure Tedesco's title.

James Tedesco of the Roosters is tackled during the round four NRL match between the Sydney Roosters and the New Zealand Warriors at Allianz Stadium in Sydney. Source: Getty

He will now also have the chance to become just the sixth player in history to win a Dally M and premiership in the same year if the Roosters beat Canberra on Sunday.

In a glittering night for Tedesco at the Hordern Pavilion in Sydney, he was also the fullback of the year while the Origin-winning try was the Peter Frilingos headline moment of the season.

Parramatta halfback Mitchell Moses finished third on 29, while Broncos rookie Payne Haas was fourth on 27 points.

Haas was also named the NRL's rookie of the year, just months after the powerful forward made his Origin debut for NSW.

Tedesco's teammate Latrell Mitchell was the centre of the year, Moses was halfback and Smith both the hooker and captain of the year.

Melbourne coach Craig Bellamy won the coach's award, after his team took the minor premiership by six points before being bundled out of the finals in week three.

Meanwhile St George Illawarra centre Jessica Sergis was the Dally M female player of the year, ahead of her team's NRLW grand final against Brisbane.

Male Dally M Player of the Year - James Tedesco - Sydney Roosters
Female Dally M Player of the Year - Jessica Sergis - St. George-Illawarra Dragons
Prop - Payne Haas - Brisbane Broncos
Second Row - John Bateman - Canberra Raiders
Lock - Cameron Murray - South Sydney Rabbitohs
Winger - Ken Maumalo - Warriors
Centre - Latrell Mitchell - Sydney Roosters
Five-Eighth - Cameron Munster - Melbourne Storm
Halfback - Mitchell Moses - Parramatta Eels
Hooker - Cameron Smith - Melbourne Storm
Fullback - James Tedesco - Sydney Roosters
Interchange - Brandon Smith - Melbourne Storm
Rookie of the Year - Payne Haas - Brisbane Broncos
Captain of the Year - Cameron Smith - Melbourne Storm
Coach of the Year - Craig Bellamy - Melbourne Storm
Top Points Scorer - Latrell Mitchell - Sydney Roosters
Top Try Scorer - Maika Sivo - Parramatta Eels
Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: James Tedesco (State of Origin III)
Provan-Summons - Josh Jackson - Canterbury Bulldogs.

Ken Maumalo scores a try for the Warriors against the Cowboys. Source: Photosport

More From