Video: Scotland Bravehearts pull off dramatic comeback to seal draw against Kiwis




Scotland have put on a brilliannt show drawing 18-18 against the defending Four Nations champions New Zealand at The Zebra Claims Stadium, Workington today.

FULLTIME Kiwis 18 Scotland 18

79 mins: Kiwis 18 Scotland 18

76 mins: Kiwis 18 Scotland 12

74 mins: Kiwis 14 Scotland 12

TRY! Gerard Beale crosses over in the corner after a great charging run from Greg Eastwood who sucked in several defenders to create space out wide. The conversion is no good from Issac Luke.

70 mins: Kiwis 10 Scotland 12

TWO! Scotland hit the front for the first time with a successful penalty kick.

66 mins: Kiwis 10 Scotland 10

TRY! The flying Scotts are in and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak is left clutching at air with the Scottish second rower throwing a sneaky dummy before crossing the try line. Scores are level at 10-10 with the conversion going through the sticks

58 mins: Kiwis 10 Scotland 4

56 mins: Kiwis 10 Scotland 4

TRY! Davd Fusitu'a scores his second try on debut with the Kiwis showing off some silky passing to score their second try of the match. The conversion in no good.

53 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

TURNOVER! The Kiwis have shown great desperation to force a mistake with a brilliant set, marching down the field and making the Scots cough up the pill.

51 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

BUST UP! Joseph Tapine has sparked an on-field melee. Throwing a sneaky punch which connects with the a Scottish defender.

47 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

45 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

GOAL-LINE DROP OUT! Shaun Johnson comes up with another clutch play dropping in a cheeky grubber in the in-goal getting gifting his side another set.

42 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

40 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

And we are back with the Kiwis kicking off to Scotland.

HALFTIME - Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

39 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

RESTART! Shaun Johnson forces Lachlan Coote to play at the ball in the in-goal with the Kiwi half putting in an excellent grubber in the in-goal.

34 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

PENALTY! The Kiwis will have to be careful now with the ref stopping the match to warn Jesse Bromwich about the amount of penalties his side is giving away.

29 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

26 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 4

TRY! The Scots strike back with Lachlan Coote stabbing through a nifty grubber for his right winger to score. The Kiwis hold a two-point lead after the Scots fail to convert the try.

23 mins: Kiwis 6 Scotland 0

TRY! Finally the Kiwis score with Shaun Johnson sparking the attack taking the ball to the line before passing a nice short ball for Tohu Harris to run onto. He finds himself in space and does well to suck in the last defender before giving the pass for David Fusitu'a to score down the right edge.

Johnson adds the extras.

22 mins: Kiwis 0 Scotland 0

This time the Scots butcher a try with Scotland's second rower dropping the ball cold close to the try line.

16 mins: Kiwis 0 Scotland 0

NO TRY! The Kiwis let another try go begging with a poor pass finding the touch line.

10 mins: Kiwis 0 Scotland 0

PENALTY! The Scots looking good with the Kiwis' poor discipline handing the Scottish another set inside their 20m line. Kiwis need to be careful now giving away back to back penalties.

8 mins: Kiwis 0 Scotland 0

The Kiwis are looking good in the opening minutes completing their sets and holding out the Scots' attack in their danger zone.

Kick-off: Kiwis 0 Scotland 0

And we are underway with Scotland kicking off to NZ!


Warriors utility back David Fusitu'a will earn his first cap starting on the wing, while Te Maire Martin, James Fisher-Harris and Joseph Tapine have all be named on the bench.

The first to take the field out of the three will become the 800th Kiwi in the team's history to do so.

The squad naming means all 24 members of the squad will have played during the Four Nations at some point.

Kiwis: 1. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 2. Jason Nightingale, 3. Solomone Kata, 4. Gerard Beale, 5. David Fusitu'a, 6. Thomas Leuluai, 7. Shaun Johnson, 8. Jesse Bromwich (c), 9. Issac Luke, 10. Adam Blair, 11. Manu Ma'u, 12. Tohu Harris, 13. Greg Eastwood.

Interchange: 14. Te Maire Martin, 15. Martin Taupau, 16. James Fisher-Harris, 17. Joseph Tapine, 18. Lewis Brown, 19. Jordan Rapana.

Scotland: D Addy , E Aitken, R Brierley, D Brough, T Cassel, L Coote, L Douglas, D Ferguson, B Hellewell, L Hood, B Kavanagh, K Linnett, F Mariano, B McConnachie, B Phillips, M Russell, D Scott, L Tierney, A Walker.

loading error