Watch: West Indies juniors outrage cricketing world after appealing against batsman who picked up stationary ball

A controversial appeal has divided the cricketing world at this year's under-19 World Cup, with the West Indies once again at the centre of the issue.

The Caribbean cricket team managed to dismiss South African opener Jiveshan Pillay when he was sitting on 47 runs.

However, the dismissal wasn't due to their fielding or bowling talents, but instead from turning a moment of sportsmanship into the complete opposite.

Pillay almost chopped on a delivery but managed to survive, watching the ball spin closely to his stumps.

The South African batsman showed restraint to not touch the ball as he waited for it to stop moving before finally picking it up and passing it to Windies keeper and captain Emmanuel Stewart.

Stewart then immediately appealed to the umpires for obstructing the field.

After a long deliberation between the umpires and captain, the ruling was sent upstairs where Pillay's nightmare was realised as he was given out.

According to the 'returning the ball to a fielder' section of the obstructing the field rule (Law 37.4), "either batsman is out obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder".

Despite the official rules favouring the West Indies, their actions and desperation for a wicket have caused debate.

It's not the West Indies' first time of being accused of poor sportsmanship at an under-19 World Cup though.

Two years ago they were heavily criticised for their game-winning wicket against Zimbabwe after their bowler claimed the dismissal using a 'Mankad'.


Topics



What is the 'carrom ball'? - Mitchell Santner's mystery delivery explained

When Mitchell Santner clean bowled Fakhar Zaman during the Black Caps' five wicket win over Pakistan in Hamilton yesterday, New Zealand cricket fans got a taste of something we've never seen on our shores from a Kiwi spinner - the carrom ball.

Santner's delivery pitched outside Fakhar's leg stump, seeing the Pakistan opener advance down the wicket to try and hit him over long on for a six.

However - to his horror - Santner's delivery turned back into the left hander, going on to take out leg stump and send Fakhar on his way back to the pavilion.

The delivery, known as the carrom ball, is used by finger spinners, whereby the thumb and middle finger are used to simply flick the ball rather than impart spin in the orthodox fashion.

Simply put, the ball turns the opposite way to a finger spinner's stock delivery.

The ball is flicked out of the hand, with the name derived from the South Asian board game carrom.

Other current bowlers to utilise the delivery include India's Ravi Ashwin and Sri Lanka's Ajantha Medis - with the Black Caps star adding his name to esteemed company with his mastery displayed yesterday, becoming the first left hander in international cricket to do so.

TODAY'S
FEATURED STORIES

'See the ball, hit the ball' - Colin de Grandhomme on brutal match-winning innings

Big-hitting New Zealand batsman Colin de Grandhomme's instructions on his return to the national team yesterday were simple - he was told to go and play his natural game.

The returning de Grandhomme - out since early December on bereavement leave - showed no signs of rust in Hamilton, banging 74 in 40 balls and helping New Zealand reach their target of 263 with four overs to spare against Pakistan.

NZ lead the series 4-0.

Speaking after the match, de Grandhomme said his job was simple.

"I didn't get a message, I just got told to 'go play your game'," he told reporters.

"See the ball, hit the ball.

"Obviously tonight was my night."

The final match of the series is in Wellington on Friday. 
 


Topics