TODAY |

Kane Williamson on World Cup final and super over conundrum - 'Fine print decided it'

With the dust settling after a chaotic World Cup final, Black Caps captain Kane Williamson has collected his thoughts to reflect on the match.

Your playlist will load after this ad

Williamson said after two decides slogged it out for 102 overs, it was a shame to decide the match on a little-used rule. Source: 1 NEWS

Williamson fronted media this morning after a well-earned sleep and says he's starting to make sense of everything that happened although he admits it'll take "quite a bit of time" to fully comprehend it.

"After two months of getting to the final stage and to have a tie... I guess it's an odd feeling to, in some ways, not have a loser of a match but have a crowned winner."

The Black Caps came within inches of winning the match but after a wild final over and equally chaotic super over - which has since sparked some debate over rules and umpire calls - England were crowned the winners for hitting more boundaries in the match.

England out-hit the Kiwi side in that regard 24 to 16.

Williamson said that was tough to take.

"I mean, such a fine line," Williamson said.

"Maybe the worst part is there's so much you can't control in those situations and it still eventuates the way it did.

"All and all, I think it was a real shame the tournament was decided in the way it was after two teams went at it in two attempts of cricket games and it was still a tie.

"We went toe-to-toe and fine print decided it."