'Disgraceful' - Pakistan captain calls out Ross Taylor for gesture aimed at bowler, management lay official complaint

Pakistan have taken serious offence to Ross Taylor's gesture about illegal bowling during this morning's first ODI, calling the act "disgraceful".

Pakistan team management have lodged an official complaint.

The senior Black Caps batsman could be in hot water over the gesture midway through his innings in which he appeared to accuse spinner Mohammed Hafeez of an illegal bowling action, suggesting he was chucking instead.

Pakistan cricket journalist Saj Sadiq reported Pakistan's team management have made an official complaint to the referee regarding the incident.

Sadiq also quoted Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed hitting out at Taylor after the game.

"Ross Taylor's actions were wrong and it's not his job to do that. The way he motioned the action on television was disgraceful. I don't think that's his job, his job is to bat. It's better if he focuses on his batting," Sarfraz said.

"The way the batsmen reacted two to three times was completely wrong. They are professional cricketers and they should take care regarding such things. If there is a problem they shouldn't make signals on the television screen, they can instead speak to the umpires.

Hafeez has been banned from bowling four times in his career by the ICC for going beyond the permitted flex of 15 degrees - the most recent being in October last year before he returned in April having remodelled his action.

"There is no problem with Hafeez's action, his action is completely clear and I think the batsmen were trying to create an issue for no reason," Sarfraz said.

Taylor finished with a top score of 80 in New Zealand's 47-run win while Hafeez finished with figures of 0-23 from six overs of work.

More From