Watch: Dilworth student's killer line, 'I am a different shade of brown' up against Winston, Jacinda for 2017's best quote

An Auckland teenager's confronting poem about Maori stereotypes, performed at September's month's Word: The Front Line Poetry Slam, has earned a spot in Massey University's annual "Quote of the Year". 

Dilworth Student Jai Selkirk's killer line, "I am a different shade of brown", came in a performance that left his Auckland Town Hall audience spellbound, and was later watched by millions around the world on the internet, after a video of his performance went viral.

More than 2,000 people have attended the Labour Party's campaign launch in Auckland. Source: 1 NEWS

Jacinda Ardern's, "this is my generation's nuclear free moment" line, during an Auckland election campaign speech in August also made the list.

A cliff-hanger line from Shortland Street is also recognised.

Quote of the Year organiser and judge Dr Heather Kavan said it's notoriously hard to predict a winner. 

She said she expects the line from the Rainbow Youth's advertisement - 'It's deeply disappointing, but it's not gay' - will do well.

Winston wasn't going to let Gareth Morgan get away with his 'Cheshire cat' jibe at Ratana. Source: 1 NEWS

She said Winston Peters' "ravaged by a toothless sheep," deserves its place in the list of finalists. 

Former Deputy Prime Minister Paula Bennett made the list with her quote regarding leaving her position, she said she is embracing her "new feather duster status." 

It isn't the first time Ms Bennett has appeared on the list, in 2012 she won with her line directed at Jacinda Arden when she said, "zip it sweetie". 

Previous winners have also included politicians. In 2013, Former Cabinet Minister Maurice Williamson won for a quote in his now iconic "big, gay rainbow" speech. 

Christchurch Boys' High School head boy Jake Bailey delivered his last speech at prize giving, after being diagnosed with cancer. Source: YouTube/Christchurch Boys' High School

2015's winner was Christchurch Boys' High School's head boy Jake Bailey, who received an unprecendeted 77 per cent of the public vote. 

He was being treated for an aggressive cancer at the time and said, "Here's the thing - none of us get out of life alive. So be gallant, be great, be gracious, and be grateful for the opportunities that you have."

This year's winner will be annouced on December 15 following voting by the public. 

The finalists are:

"It's deeply disappointing, but it's not gay." – Actor Jatinder Singh after 'Nigel' calls a dropped pie "gay" in Rainbow Youth's advertisement.

"Excuse me for laughing, but it's been a long time since I've been ravaged by a toothless sheep." – Winston Peters on Gareth Morgan.

"This is my generation's nuclear free moment." – Jacinda Ardern on climate change.

"I’m embracing my new feather duster status." – Paula Bennett, ending her tenure as Deputy Prime Minister.

"First ladyman? Who knows… Aiming for Michelle Obama, probably gonna be a little bit closer to Prince Philip." – Clarke Gayford on his role as Jacinda Ardern’s partner.

"I am a different shade of brown." – Student Jai Selkirk of the Dilworth School team winning 'Word – The Front Line Poetry Slam' competition.

"Please tell me that's not your penis." – Shortland Street's Dr Chris Warner (Michael Galvin) confronting his son about a photo, in a cliff-hanger ending.

"If humour is common sense dancing, John Clarke was Nureyev." – Musician Don McGlashan on the death of comedian John Clarke.

"For overseas observers, in NZ elections, we all vote then take the ballots—chuck them out—and ask a man called Winston Peters who won." – Writer Ali Ikram tweeting about the 2017 election.

"I've not seen the data about the risk factor of death by falling fatty; I'd imagine it's similar to the risk factor of death by Sharknado." – Fat activist and scholar Dr Cat Pause when asked if fat people are a hazard because they could fall on you.

With his performance Jai Selkirk from Dilworth School helped the Auckland school to become the 2017 Word – The Front Line champions. Source: Hahana