TVNZ wins big at annual Voyager Media Awards

TVNZ's journalists have come out on top at the annual Voyager Media Awards, scooping a number of awards in key categories.

1 NEWS Pacific Correspondent Barbara Dreaver and Sunday reporter Jehan Casinader were among the TVNZ journalists awarded at tonight's Voyager Media Awards. Source: 1 NEWS

1 NEWS Pacific Correspondent Barbara Dreaver was recognised for both the Best TV/Video News Item and Best Coverage of a Major News Event for her leading coverage of the Samoan measles crisis last year.

Meanwhile Sunday's Jehan Casinader was awarded Broadcast Reporter of the Year and Best TV/Video Current Affairs, Short, for his feature Black Friday.

TVNZ's online news and current affairs platform Re: rounded out the Best TV/Video Current Affairs Category, winning the Long section for the feature Rediscovering Aotearoa: aroha/love.

The runner-ups for those categories were TVNZ's Seven Sharp for Harri Brown's story and Sunday's feature on The Numbers Game.

In other categories, Re: reporter Cass Marrett won Best Video Journalist - Junior, while Mava Enoka received the Peter M Acland Fellowship, which will see her undertake a placement at Al Jazeera international television network based in Kuala Lumpur.

The 1 NEWS design team won Best Artwork/Graphics, with their high-end augmented reality work featuring highly on 1 NEWS' news bulletins.

The major media awards were conducted remotely this year due to the Covid-19 gathering restrictions.

Other major categories include Newspaper of the Year and Website of the Year, both of which went to the New Zealand Herald.


Best headline, caption or hook  - Barnaby Sharp, Nelson Mail/Stuff

Best artwork / graphics - 1 NEWS Design Team, TVNZ

Best interview or profile - Michelle Langstone, NZ Herald/NZME

Cartoonist of the Year - Toby Morris, The Spinoff

Opinion Writer of the Year - Emma Espiner, Newsroom

Reviewer of the Year - Paul Little, North & South/Bauer Media

Travel Journalist of the Year - Mike White, North & South/Bauer Media

Editorial Executive of the Year - Annabelle Lee-Mather, The Hui GSTV for MediaWorks

Best feature or current affairs video - single video journalist - Luke McPake with “Death Bed: The Story of Kelly Savage”, RNZ

Best video journalist – junior - Cass Marrett, Re: / TVNZ

Video Journalist of the Year - Lawrence Smith, Stuff

Best TV/video documentary - Stuff Circuit/Stuff and Māori Television, “Infinite Evil” 

Best TV/video news item - 1 NEWS/TVNZ with Barbara Dreaver, “Measles lockdown” 

Best TV/video current affairs, short (up to 10 mins) - Sunday/TVNZ with Jehan Casinader, “Black Friday”

Best TV/video current affairs, long (between 10 mins and 20 mins) - Re:/TVNZ, “Rediscovering Aotearoa: aroha/love” 

Reporting - crime and justice - Blair Ensor, The Press/Stuff

Reporting - social issues, including health and education - Emma Russell, NZ Herald/NZME    

Reporting - general - Patrick Gower, Newshub/MediaWorks

Best reporting - Māori Affairs - Te Aniwa Hurihanganui, RNZ 

Environmental/Sustainability Award - Kate Evans, New Zealand Geographic/Kōwhai Media

Science Journalism Award - Eloise Gibson,

Best individual investigation - Patrick Gower for “Exposing white supremacy in New Zealand”, Newshub/MediaWorks

Best team investigation - Stuff, “Product of Australia”

Best (single) news story / scoop - Melanie Reid,

Best coverage of a major news event - 1 News/TVNZ with Barbara Dreaver, “Samoan measles crisis”

Best editorial campaign or project -, “Oranga Tamariki uplifts”

Best Reporter - junior - Logan Church, RNZ

Student Journalist of the Year - Ashley Stanley,

Community Journalist of the Year - Virginia Fallon, Kāpiti Observer/Stuff

Regional Journalist of the Year - Hamish McNeilly, The Press/Stuff    

Sports Journalist of the Year - Dana Johannsen, Stuff    

Business Journalist of the Year - Tim Hunter, NBR

Political Journalist of the Year - Audrey Young, NZ Herald/NZME

Broadcast Reporter of the Year - Jehan Casinader, Sunday/TVNZ

Reporter of the Year - Guyon Espiner, RNZ

nib Health Journalism Scholarship - junior - Emma Russell, NZ Herald/NZME

nib Health Journalism Scholarship - senior - Nicholas Jones, NZ Herald/NZME

Regional Journalism Scholarship - Natalie Akoorie, NZ Herald/NZME; Aaron Leaman, Waikato Times/Stuff 

Peter M Acland Foundation Fellowship - Mava Enoka, TVNZ; Charles Anderson, Vanishing Point Studio

Feature writing - crime and justice - Mike White, North & South/Bauer Media

Feature writing - social issues, including health and education - Florence Kerr, Stuff

Feature writing - general - Steve Braunias, NZ Herald/NZME and; Duncan Greive, The Spinoff

Best first-person essay or feature (no word limit) - Tayi Tibble,

Best feature writer - junior (no word limit) - Joel MacManus, Stuff

Feature Writer of the Year - short form (up to 3500 words) - Nicholas Jones, NZ Herald/NZME

Feature Writer of the Year - long form (3500+ words) - Aaron Smale, RNZ

Best magazine cover - HOME New Zealand/Bauer Media

Best magazine design - HOME New Zealand/Bauer Media

Best newspaper-inserted magazine - Sunday Magazine, Sunday Star-Times/Stuff  

Best trade/specialist publication, free magazine and/or website - Air Force News/Defence Public Affairs

Magazine of the Year - Metro magazine/Bauer Media; New Zealand Geographic/Kōwhai Media

Best photography - features (including portraits, fashion, food and architecture) - Braden Fastier, Nelson Mail/Stuff

Best photography - news - George Heard, The Press/Stuff

Judges’ prize for the single best news photo - Stacy Squires, The Press, Dominion Post, Sunday Star-Times/Stuff

Best photography - sport - Mark Baker, Associated Press

Best photo-story/essay - Cameron McLaren, New Zealand Geographic/Kōwhai Publishing

Photographer of the Year - Alan Gibson, NZ Herald/NZME

Best newspaper front page - The Press/Stuff

Community Newspaper of the Year - The Beacon/Beacon Media Group

Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation) - Waikato Times/Stuff

Newspaper of the Year (more than 30,000 circulation) - NZ Herald/NZME

Weekly Newspaper of the Year - Sunday Star-Times/Stuff

Voyager Newspaper of the Year - NZ Herald/NZME

Podcast - Best narrative/serial - “White Silence”, RNZ and Stuff

Podcast - Best episodic/recurrent - “He Kakano Ahau”, RNZ and Ursula Grace Films; “Out of My Mind”, Stuff

Best innovation in digital storytelling - “Fighting the Demon”, NZ Herald/NZME and Greenstone

Best news website or app -

Website of the Year -