Six60 wins big as Marlon Williams takes top gong at NZ Music Awards

Marlon Williams has won Best Solo Artist and Album of the Year for his 2018 album Make Way For Love at last night's NZ Music Awards.

Marlon Williams and Six60 were the big winners at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, with Alien Weaponry honoured for the first time as well. Source: 1 NEWS

After winning Best Music Video for Vampire Again at the Artisan Awards in Wellington last week, as well as his 2015 awards for Best Male Solo Artist and Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Williams now has five Tuis to his name.

Earlier in the year he won the country's top songwriting award, the Silver Scroll.

Europe correspondent Joy Reid caught up with him for an exclusive chat in London as he tours Europe with his band. Source: 1 NEWS

Dunedin five-piece Six60 took home the most awards, winning a total of five Tuis: Best Group, Highest Selling Album, Highest Selling Single, Radio Airplay Record of the Year and the People’s Choice Award.

After kicking the ceremony off with a performance of their song Kai Tangata, Alien Weaponry won Best Rock Artist. Their debut album Tū in June reached #5 on the New Zealand album charts, and since releasing it the band have had a whirlwind year of international tour and success.

Best Alternative Artist went to Unknown Mortal Orchestra and Best Pop Artist went to Kimbra.

Northland psych soul musician Troy Kingi took home Best Māori Artist and Best Soul/R&B Artist for his genre-bending album Shake That Skinny Ass All the Way to Zygertron

Onehunga crew SWIDT won Best Hip Hop Artist, their second NZ Music Awards after winning Best Group in 2017. The group were famously offered the Trophy for Best Urban/Hip-Hop artist in 2016 by Aaradhna after she refused to accept it.

Aotearoa hip-hop pioneers Upper Hutt Posse were inducted into the NZ Music Hall of Fame with Che Fu and The Kratez performing a version their hit E Tū featuring 14-year-old DMC DJ World Champ K-Swizz.

Wellington's Drax Project took home Breakthrough Artist of the Year and Single of the Year for Woke Up Late.

The 2018 International Achievement recipient was Brooke Ligertwood aka Brooke Fraser.

Ligertwood’s albums have been certified 15x Platinum in NZ, and her recent work with worship group Hillsong earned her a Grammy earlier this year.

Sons of Zion were awarded Best Roots Artist, Equippers Revolution received Best Worship Artist, and Eve de Castro Robinson won Best Classical Artist for 2018.

The ceremony, held at Auckland’s Spark Arena, included performances from Six60, Alien Weaponry, Robinson, Drax Project, JessB, Sons of Zion, a special In Memoriam performance by Stan Walker and a tribute performance by Che Fu and The Kratez for the 2018 Legacy Award recipient Upper Hutt Posse.

Full list of winners:

Te Pukaemi o te Tau/Hallensteins Album of the Year

Winner: Marlon Williams – Make Way For Love
Alien Weaponry – Tū
Julia Deans – We Light Fire
Six60 – Six60
Tami Neilson – Sassafrass!
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Sex & Food

Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau/Vodafone Single of the Year

Winner: Drax Project – ‘Woke Up Late’
Mitch James – ‘21’
Robinson – ‘Nothing To Regret’
Six60 – ‘Don't Give It Up’
Sons Of Zion – ‘Drift Away’
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – ‘Hunnybee’
Te Roopu Toa/THREE Best Group

Winner: Six60 – Six60
Alien Weaponry – Tū
Drax Project – Noon
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Sex & Food

Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa/Best Solo Artist

Winner: Marlon Williams – Make Way For Love
Julia Deans – We Light Fire
Kimbra – Primal Heart
Tami Neilson – Sassafrass!

Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau/Jaguar Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Winner: Drax Project

Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa/Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Artist

Winner: Troy Kingi
Alien Weaponry

Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa/The Edge Best Pop Artist

Winner: Kimbra
Drax Project

Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa/Best Alternative Artist

Winner: Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Marlon Williams
Wax Chattels

Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa/Best Soul/RnB Artist

Winner: Troy Kingi
Israel Starr
Vince Harder

Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa/Best Hip Hop Artist

Winner: SWIDT

Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa/Best Roots Artist

Winner: Sons of Zion
Tomorrow People

Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa/Best Electronic Artist

Winner: Chores
Arma Del Amor

Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa/Best Rock Artist

Winner: Alien Weaponry
Cairo Knife Fight
Skinny Hobos

Te Kaipuoro Kairangi Toa/Best Worship Artist

Winner: Equippers Revolution
EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth
Kane Adams

Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa/Best Classical Artist

Winner: Eve de Castro Robinson
Henry Wong Doe
Michael Houston

Te Kōwhiri o te Nuinga/Vodafone People’s Choice Award


Tohu Whakareretanga/Legacy Award

Upper Hutt Posse

Te Tōtahi Hoko Teitei/Vodafone Highest Selling Single

Six60 – Don't Give It Up

Te Pukaemi Hoko Teitei/Highest Selling Album

Six60 – Six60

Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau/NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year

Six60 – Don't Give It Up

Tohu Tutuki o te Ao/International Achievement

Brooke Fraser

Artisan Awards

Te Puoro Ataata Toa/NZ On Air Best Music Video

Winner: Marlon Williams – Vampire Again (Marlon Williams)
Chris Graham – ‘Black Crow’ (Louis Baker)
Shae Sterling – ‘Bloodlines’ (The Adults ft. JessB & Estère)

Te Kōpaki Pukaemi Toa/Best Album Cover

Winner: Jaime Robertson & Matthias Heiderich – In Spaces EP (Sola Rosa)
Barny Bewick – Seven (Cairo Knife Fight)
Tami Neilson, Ashley Church, Xoe Hall & Jules Koblun – Sassafrass! (Tami Neilson)

Te Kaiwhakaputa Toa/Massey University Best Producer

Winner: Simon Gooding, Tom Larking & Hammerhead – Tū (Alien Weaponry)
Estère – My Design, On Others’ Lives (Estère)
Neil & Liam Finn – Out Of Silence (Neil Finn)

Te Kaipukaha Toa/Best Engineer

Winner: Jordan Stone & Simon Gooding – Out Of Silence (Neil Finn)
Chris Chetland – Rangatira (REI)
Simon Gooding – Tū (Alien Weaponry)

Kaiārahi Puoro o te Tau/Music Teacher of the Year

Winner: Elizabeth Sneyd – Virtuoso Strings Charitable Trust, Porirua
Jane Egan – Gisborne Girls High School, Gisborne
Judith Bell – Chisnallwood Intermediate, Christchurch

Additional Tuis presented in 2018

Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa/Best Folk Artist

Winner: Albi & The Wolves – One Eye Open
Reb Fountain – Little Arrows
Candice Milner – Evergreen

Te Pukaemi Toa o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa/Best Pacific Music Album

Winner: Ladi 6 – Royal Blue 3000 EP EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa'afetai Le Atua
Noah Slee – Otherland
Sol3 Mio – A Very Merry Christmas
SWIDT – Stoneyhunga

Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa/Best Country Artist

Winner: Reb Fountain – Hopeful and Hopeless
Lana Doublet – Beautiful Human
Phil Doublet – Strength, Love, Music & Light

Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa/Best Jazz Artist

Winner: Umar Zakaria – Fearless Music
Hayden Chisholm, Norman Meehan and Paul Dyne – Unwind
Lucien Johnson – West of the Sun

Te Kaipuoro Waiata Tamariki Toa/Best Children's Artist

Winner: Levity Beet – My Best Friend Jake Is A Cyborg
Chanelle & Friends – The Little Green Turtle And Other Songs For Kids
Moe & Friends – The Moe Album

Newcomers Drax Project took away single of the year of their song Woke Up Late. Source: Breakfast