Population growth spurs new electorate proposal for Auckland ahead of next year's election

A new electorate has been proposed in Auckland, with ‘Flat Bush’ set to take parts of Hunua, Manurewa and Papakura electorates.

Your playlist will load after this ad

All electorates need to have similar populations, which is why the redrawn map is being pitched. Source: 1 NEWS

The electorate boundary review today released its proposed changes to New Zealand’s electorates ahead of the 2020 election.

The extra electorate area would not change the overall number of seats in Parliament, instead pulling one from the list seats down to 48, bringing the electorate seats up to 72.

Changes are also proposed to 35 of the current electorates.

Main proposed changes

North Island

  • New electorate Flat Bush created
  • Rodney changed to incude Dairy Flat and Coatesville, renamed Whangaparāoa
  • Helensville extended into Northland, Whangaparāoa and Upper Harbour. Waitakere Ranges goes into New Lynn. 
  • Adjustments made to boundaries of Waikato, with Coromandel, Hamilton West and Taupō. 
  • Changes made to Whangarei and Bay of Plenty boundaries. 

South Island 

  • Brightwater goes from Nelson into West-Coast Tasman.
  • Selwyn changed to exclude Banks Peninsula. Changes also made to Ilam,Wignram, Port Hills, Christchurch East and Ragnitata. 
  • Clutha-Southland takes Alexandra and Clyde from Waitaki. 
  • Otago Peninsula goes from Dunedin South to North, Dunedin South takes South Otago from Clutha-Southland. 
  • Winton and the Catlins goes to Invercargill from Clutha-Southland.

Māori electorates

  • Tāmaki Makaurau takes Te Atatū from Te Tai Tokerau, and also some of East Manuwera from Hauraki Waikato.

Proposed name changes: 

  • Rodney to Whangaparāoa
  • Hunua to Port Waikato
  • Port Hills to Banks Peninsula
  • Rimutaka to Remutaka

Representation chair Judge Craig Thompson said boundary changes were needed to areas in Christchurch because of significant growth in Selwyn.

Adjustments are also needed in Otago and Southland, with Waitaki, Dunedin North, Dunedin South, Clutha-Southland and Invercargill proposed to change.

The boundaries were last reviewed in 2014, and the population of every electorate has increased.

The public is now able to have its say on the proposals. Boundaries will be finalised in April 2020.