Watch: 'I can't believe it!' - Lorde thrilled to win APRA Silver Scroll Award for hit Green Light

Lorde won the 2017 APRA Silver Scroll Award for her international hit song Green Light.

Lorde, real name Ella Yelich O’Connor, along with her co-writers Jack Antonoff and Joel Little were unable to be at the ceremony at the Dunedin Town Hall last night, but Lorde sent a message from America.

"I can’t believe it. I really wanted to win the Silver Scroll Award, I just feel like it's so prestigious and important. I always love and respect the songs that end up in the Silver Scrolls," she said. 

"Thank you for honouring Green Light, which is a song I love so much, and am so proud of. The second it came out, I knew it felt like a bit of my heart, right in the song. Thank you so much, I wish I was there!"

It was the third time Lorde has been a finalist in her short career, and her second win with Joel Little, after being awarded the trophy for Royals in 2013. 

The award acknowledges excellence in songwriting.

"As a song, Green Light instantly hit its mark. Ella has captured that moment in her life and shared it beautifully with us all," said Anthony Healey, Head of NZ Operations for APRA AMCOS. 

Ella Yelich-O'Connor, otherwise known as Lorde, gives an insight into the life that she lives. Source: Seven Sharp

"Along with Joel and Jack she’s crafted something that’s been critically acclaimed all over the world. But the acclaim of your peers is special, it’s the highest praise and in this case a well-deserved accolade."

Newcomers Alien Weaponry (Henry de Jong, Lewis de Jong, and Ethan Trembath) took the APRA Maioha Award, recognising exceptional waiata featuring te reo Māori, for their heavy metal anthem Raupatu. The song raises awareness of land confiscations by the colonial government.

Wellington composer and violinist, Salina Fisher, won the SOUNZ Contemporary Award for the second year in a row, with her composition Torino, which was inspired by the work of taonga puoro artist Rob Thorne. Thorne collected the award on Fisher's behalf, as she is currently based in New York, studying at the Manhattan School of Music.

First time finalist Claire Cowan won the APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award for her soundtrack for mini-series Hillary, which celebrated the life of Sir Edmund Hillary.

The APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award was won by Tim Prebble for his work on independent film One Thousand Ropes.

Rounding off the evening was the induction of The Clean into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame, with a tribute to the iconic Dunedin band from poet David Merritt, filmmaker Stuart Page, and musicians Astro Children and Billy TK.

2017 APRA Silver Scrolls Winners List

APRA Silver Scroll Award: Ella Yelich O’Connor, Jack Antonoff, Joel Little (Lorde) - Green Light
APRA Maioha Award: Henry de Jong, Lewis de Jong, Ethan Trembath (Alien Weaponry) - Raupatu
SOUNZ Contemporary Award: Salina Fisher - Torino
APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award: Claire Cowan - Hillary
APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award: Tim Prebble - One Thousand Ropes
Hall of Fame: The Clean - Hamish Kilgour, David Kilgour, Robert Scott, and Peter Gutteridge