'Diverse, original and assured' - Silver Scroll finalists announced

The five finalists for APRA's Silver Scroll awards are out as the ceremony prepares to celebrate its 50th anniversary.

Lorde has released her new single titled Yellow Flicker Beat. Source: 1 NEWS

Lorde's producer Joel Little is a feature of the final list for the third year in a row, after winning the Scroll in 2013 with Ella Yelich O'Connor (Lorde) for Royals, and making the top five in 2014 for his work with Broods.

This year's award ceremony will also feature a "Lost Scroll" presentation for songs and artists from 1981.

The APRA Silver Scroll award was first presented in 1965 and the finalists and winners are determined by the votes of APRA's 10,000 members.

"These five songs illustrate everything great about our music right now – diverse, original and assured," APRA spokesperson Anthony Healey said.

"We are extremely proud to be celebrating songs of such quality on the 50th anniversary of the award."

Guitarist Bill Sevesi will this year be inducted into the hall of fame.

The awards take place on September 17 at Auckland's Vector Arena and will be broadcast on 95 bFM.

2015 Finalists

Lorde - Yellow Flicker Beat

Anthonie Tonnon - Water Underground

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Multi-Love

Mel Parsons - Get Out Alive

Marlon Williams - Dark Child

1981 Finalists

The Swingers - Counting The Beat

Split Enz - One Step Ahead

The Screaming Meemees - See Me Go

The Clean - Tally Ho

Blam Blam Blam - No Depression In New Zealand