New Zealand sending 14 crews to Rowing World Champs

Rowing New Zealand will send 14 boats to the World Championships in France later this year, the first chance crews will have to qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympics.

New Zealand will compete in all eight men's and all six women's Olympic boat classes in 2015, the first time all 14 Olympic class categories have been filled.

"There are still a lot of tough training miles to be made on Lake Karapiro but the signs are there," Rowing New Zealand High Performance Director Alan Cotter said.

"We are confident that we will meet our high performance target of six medals at the world championships and qualify all boats for 2016. We are optimistic the dream of fielding 14 boats in Rio will become a reality once the 2015 world champs come to a close."

The squad will be headed by Olympic champions Mahe Drysdale in the single sculls, while Fiona Bourke will represent New Zealand in the women's competition.

Women's Single Scull: Fiona Bourke (Otago University RC, Southern RPC)

Women's Double Scull: Zoe Stevenson (Tauranga RC, Waikato RPC), Eve Macfarlane (Canterbury RC, Southern RPC)

Women's Coxless Pair: Kerri Gowler (Aramoho-Wanganui RC, Central RPC), Grace Prendergast (Avon RC, Southern RPC)

Women's Quad: Erin-Monique O'Brien (Petone RC, Central RPC), Lucy Spoors (Canterbury RC, Southern RPC), Georgia Perry (Cambridge RC, Waikato RPC), Sarah Gray (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC)

Women's Lightweight Double Scull: Julia Edward (Rotorua RC, Waikato RPC), Sophie MacKenzie (Wairau RC, Central RPC)

Women's Lightweight Scull: Zoe McBride (Nelson RC, Central RPC)

Women's Eight: Rebecca Scown (Union Wanganui RC, Central RPC), Genevieve Behrent (Waihopai RC, Southern RPC), Kerri Gowler (Aramoho-Wanganui RC, Central RPC), Grace Prendergast (Avon RC, Southern RPC), Kelsey Bevan (Counties-Manukau RC, Auckland RPC), Ruby Tew (Star BC, Central RPC), Emma Dyke (Timaru RC, Southern RPC), Kayla Pratt (Auckland RC, Auckland RPC), Cox - Francie Turner (Avon RC, Southern RPC)

Men's Single Scull: Mahe Drysdale (West End RC, Auckland RPC)

Men's Coxless Pair: Hamish Bond (North End RC, Southern RPC), Eric Murray (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC)

Men's Double Scull: Chris Harris (Aramoho-Wanganui RC, Central RPC), Robbie Manson (Wairau RC, Central RPC)

Men's Quad: John Storey (Avon RC, Southern RPC), George Bridgewater (Avon RC, Southern RPC), Jade Uru (Waihopai RC, Southern RPC), Karl Manson (Blenheim RC, Central RPC)

Men's Lightweight Coxless Four: Curtis Rapley (Tauranga RC, Waikato RPC), Alistair Bond (Otago University RC, Southern RPC), James Lassche (Avon RC, Southern RPC), James Hunter (Wellington RC, Central RPC)

Men's Lightweight Double Scull: Peter Taylor (Auckland RC, Auckland RPC), Hayden Cohen (Canterbury RC, Southern RPC)

Men's Lightweight Single Scull: Adam Ling (Tauranga RC, Waikato RPC),

Men's Coxless Four: Anthony Allen (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC), Alex Bardoul (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC), Bobby Kells (North Shore RC, Auckland RPC), Finn Howard (North Shore RC, Auckland RPC)

Men's Eight: Stephen Jones (West End RC, Auckland RPC), Brook Robertson (Nelson RC, Central RPC), Alex Kennedy (Te Awamutu RC, Waikato RPC), Joe Wright (Wellington RC, Central RPC)

Isaac Grainger (Auckland RC, Auckland RPC), Shaun Kirkham (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC), Michael Brake (North Shore RC, Auckland RPC), Tom Murray (Blenheim RC, Central RPC), Cox Caleb Shepherd (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC)

Women's coxless pair Grace Prendergast and Kerri Gowler

More From