Indigenous All Stars outclass Māori All Stars in Melbourne

Relive 1 NEWS NOW's live coverage of tonight's NRL All Stars match between Australian Indigenous and New Zealand Māori at AAMI Park in Melbourne.

FULLTIME - Māori 14 Indigenous 34

The Indigenous All Stars just had too much speed on their side. They ran in seven tries to the Māori teams' three.

73 mins: Māori 14 Indigenous 34

TRY! The Indigenous side are in again! Josh Kerr pounces onto a grubber kick by Tyrone Peachey and scores his first try of the match. He is the only player in the team to have not played an NRL match.

Latrell Mitchell lands his shot at goal from easy range.

Kalyn Ponga during the Indigenous All Stars v Maori All Stars at AAMI Park, Melbourne, Australia. 15 February 2019. Copyright photo: Brendon Ratnayake /
Kalyn Ponga. Source: Photosport

68 mins: Māori 14 Indigenous 28

KNOCK ON! The Māori team have a chance to close the gap after the Indigenous side lose control of the ball inside their own 20.

63 mins: Māori 14 Indigenous 28

TRY! James Roberts gets the credit for this one, he makes a break stepping and outside his opposite Esan Marsters. Roberts has just one defender to beat and he gives the ball to his skipper Cody Walker.

Latrell Mitchell misses his shot at goal from the sideline.

59 mins: Māori 14 Indigenous 24

TRY SAVING TACKLE! Kalyn Ponga throws a bad pass which Blake Ferguson intercepts, looked early on that he was gone - but the Māori side show great will to get back and chase him down. There is about four players who give chase and it is Jahrome Hughes who makes the crucial tackle.

51 mins: Māori 14 Indigenous 24

TRY! Kalyn Ponga finds his mark as he throws a perfect skip ball to Esan Marsters who powers over to score the Māori teams third try of the match.

Esan Marsters can't convert his own try from the sideline.

50 mins: Māori 10 Indigenous 24

GOAL LINE DROP-OUT! Kalyn Ponga forces his side a goal-line drop out after the Indigenous side is forced to play at it with his grubber kick sitting up in the in-goal.

49 mins: Māori 10 Indigenous 24

PENALTY! Andrew Fifita has been penalised after he kicked Māori hooker Brandon Smith accidently. It is the first time the Māori have had the ball in a while.

46 mins: Māori 10 Indigenous 24

TRY! Cody Walker puts in a smart grubber kick with second rower David Fifita showing great pace to get to it first. He beats Peta Hiku to the ball and scores the Indigenous side's fifth try of the match.

Latrell Mitchell misses his shot at goal from out wide.

40 mins: Māori 10 Indigenous 20

And we are back underway! Latrell Mitchell gets the second half going with deep kick off to the Māori All Stars. 

HALFTIME - Māori 10 Indigenous 20

38 mins: Māori 10 Indigenous 20

TRY! Tyrone Roberts puts up a towering bomb on the last tackle and Peta Hiku knocks the ball on. David Fifita regathers and passes the ball to Blake Ferguson who crosses over to score.

He celebrates his try with a sensational back flip and almost lands on his head, but he manages to stick it - only just. The conversion is good by Latrell Mitchell from out wide.

33 mins: Māori 10 Indigenous 14

TRY! Andrew Fifita delivers a perfect offload for Jesse Ramien who charges into a huge hole, he sees an acre of space behind the Māori defence and stabs in a brilliant grubber.

Bevan French wins the race to the ball and he grounds it over the try-line. Latrell Mitchell misses his attempt from out wide. The Indigenous team lead 14-10.

28 mins: Māori 10 Indigenous 10

TRY! Dane Gagai goes over to score his second try of the match. Dean Whare can take the credit for this one, sucking in two defenders to free up Gagai down the right edge.

Jordan Kahu misses his shot at goal from out wide and the scores are level 10-10.

27 mins: Māori 6 Indigenous 10

HELD UP! Danny Levi scoots out of dummy half and runs it on the last. The Indigenous are penalised with a player ruled to be offside.

FIRST QUARTER - Māori 6 Indigenous 10

The Indigenous got off to a slow start, but they worked their way into the game with two tries from their winger Josh Aldo-Carr. The Māori side were the first to score through Dane Gagai. Mistakes is what's costing the Māori team with Latrell Mitchell attracting plenty of attention of the Māori right edge.

14 mins: Māori 6 Indigenous 10

TRY! Again it is the Indigenous All Stars' left edge which fires again! Josh Addo-Carr crosses over for his second try. Latrell Mitchell seems to be the one creating headaches for the Māori team. He's attracting a lot of attention which is freeing up his winger Aldo-Carr.

Mitchell nails his kick this time from out wide.

11 mins: Māori 6 Indigenous 4

TRY! The Māori All Stars are caught short down the right side and Josh Addo-Carr dives over to score for the Indigenous' teams first try of the match. Latrell Mitchell misses his conversion attempt from out wide.

10 mins: Māori 6 Indigenous 0

GOAL LINE DROP-OUT! Cody Walker stabs a clever grubber into the in-goal and Jordan Kahu is forced to hit it into touch.

8 mins: Māori 6 Indigenous 0

MISTAKE! Jordan Kahu tries to force an offload to Dane Gagai and he can't hold onto it. The Indigenous All Stars have an attacking scrum on Māori All Stars 20m line.

3 mins: Māori 6 Indigenous 0

TRY! The Māori All Stars are the first to cross the try-line with Dane Gagai touching down to score down the right edge. Dean Whare showed a great passing skills with the tip on pass to Gagai,

The conversion is good from out wide and Māori lead 6-0.

10.17pm: Indigenous All Stars' war cry is led by their star centre Latrell Mitchell, the fans get up and cheer.

10.14pm: Māori All Stars perform a spine-tingling haka led by their skipper Adam Blair, up next the Indigenous All Stars respond with their war cry.

10.11pm: A lot of emotions during the New Zealand and Australian anthems. Māori All Stars skipper Adam Blair and a few of his teammates looking a bit a teary eyed.

10.06pm: We are just minutes away from kick-off as the opening ceremony gets underway!


Indigenous All Stars:

Bevan French (Eels); Blake Ferguson (Eels), James Roberts (Broncos), Latrell Mitchell (Roosters), Josh Addo-Carr (Storm); Cody Walker (captain - Rabbitohs), Tyrone Roberts (Titans); Andrew Fifita (Sharks), Nathan Peats (Titans), Josh Kerr (Dragons), David Fifita (Broncos), Adam Elliott (Bulldogs), Tyrone Peachey (Titans). Interchange: Will Chambers (Storm), Leilani Latu (Titans), Chris Smith (Bulldogs), Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs), Jesse Ramien (Knights), Tyrell Fuimaono (Panthers), Kotoni Staggs (Broncos).

New Zealand Māori All Stars:
Peta Hiku (Warriors); Dane Gagai (Rabbitohs), Esan Marsters (Wests Tigers), Dean Whare (Panthers), Jordan Kahu (Broncos); Kalyn Ponga (Knights), Jahrome Hughes (Storm); Jesse Bromwich (Storm), Brandon Smith (Storm), James Tamou (Panthers), Kevin Proctor (Titans), Tohu Harris (Warriors), Adam Blair (captain - Warriors). Interchange: Danny Levi (Knights), Brad Takairangi (Eels), James Fisher-Harris (Panthers), Gerard Beale (Warriors), Corey Harawira-Naera (Bulldogs), Joseph Tapine (Raiders), Kenny Bromwich (Cowboys).

More From